Why do I love English?

Yes you read right – I LOVE English!
If I’m completely honest I don’t quite know why, so this post will most likely be very weird and sort of… confusing? Anyway, there is a reason for this post  (believe it or not). That reason is as simple as this: there was an English speaking guy on the bus! Before thinking I’m a complete lunatic please take a moment to embrace the fact I’m Finnish.
To make it simple. I. Live. In. Finland.
People. Speak. Finnish. (or Swedish if they’re weird like myself)
Hearing. English. Is. (Perhaps not rare, but definitely and most certainly) Rare.
And I like it. I love it!!
For some strange reason I find it extremely exotic to hear someone speaking in English. It doesn’t matter if it’s an Indian IT-person, a Chinese restaurant owner or an exchange student from wherever, if you speak English loud enough for me to hear I will definitely find you interesting!! (NB! You can’t be a Finn, in that case it just won’t work) If you happen to have an interesting accent even better!
This particular English dude scored high on both points – not Finnish and dat British accent *ah*! (Come on! There is no way I’m the only one who feels this way?!)

So, dear English speaker who travelled to Klaukkala,  Finland 18.5.2015 on a bus that left from Helsinki at 13:25, I just want you to know you, and everyone else who speaks English, are the reason I love English!

//jz

Leave a comment